Is Blogging for Me? We Shall See……

How can I describe my brief blogging experience? Let’s see…Interesting, different, fun, exhilarating, hard work. That is just the first five words that came into mind when I started to write this post. What was the first five that came to mind before I began my blogging journey…boring, why, blah, ugh and really? The past few weeks since I have started blogging I have realized that blogging is more than just words on a web page. For me it has been somewhat like sharing my personal journal with the world on things that go on in my head but instead of just me seeing it I have shared it with others. I normally keep a lot of my thoughts in my head or written down.

This experience was not what I expected because my only previous experience is that of one of my good friends writes about what’s going on in Atlanta. I thought it was something that she just did about ten minutes a week. Boy was I wrong! It surprised me just how much thought and work goes into writing a blog. My undergraduate degree was in Journalism and I still had a few blogs when I was sitting there scratching my head like “what do I write”.

After the social media information, I have learned in the last few weeks I realize that blogs have a definite positive effect for nonprofit organizations. Blogs can provide valuable, quick information to those interested in the same causes. Blogs can attract wider audiences than those who just normally follow you. I realize just by adding a tag to my blog I had people I do not even know reading my blogs. So many people with the same interest can lead to nonprofit organizations attracting followers they may not even know exist.

Netvibes, a new resource to me that allows you to learn to access so much information on a zillion topics is so cool. I did not utilize this resource heavily when posting because I came up with so much on my one. But the magnitude of information it provides from so many resources is amazing. I selected ten very different topics just to see what kinds of information were out there. Plenty of stuff popped up. I saw people voicing the same and very different opinions I have on natural hair care. Social media and violence is a hot trending topic with information like gangs in New York using it to fuel their beefs. I mean it can provide such a large range of stuff that it can be helpful when nonprofit organizations may want to see how people feel about their organization or topic. It is awesome.

So although initially I was a wary blogger now I feel that it is something I would do on a regular basis. This would probably not be a full time job because I think that would be too intense for my laid back non chaotic self. But the experience itself and knowing that I can do it has been truly satisfying.

What next in the blogosphere? I think after graduation I will work on blogging more. Hopefully, blogging will not have faded by then since we all know how fast social media changes… Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

